Pursuant to Chapter 38 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, the Securities and Futures Commission regulates Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited in relation to the listing of its shares on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. The Securities and Futures Commission takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness, and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



香港交易及結算所有限公司 HONG KONG EXCHANGES AND CLEARING LIMITED (Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 388)

Re-appointment of Chairman

The Board of Directors ("Board") of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited ("HKEX") today resolved to re-appoint Mr Chow Chung Kong ("Mr Chow") as the Chairman of the Board ("Chairman") for a term to be coterminous with his directorship.

Pursuant to Article 109(2) of the HKEX's Articles of Association and Section 69 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance ("SFO"), the re-appointment of Mr Chow as the Chairman is subject to the written approval of the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region ("HKSAR"). A further announcement will be issued upon obtaining such an approval.

Mr Chow's term of office as a director of HKEX ("Director") and the Chairman expired at the conclusion of HKEX's annual general meeting ("AGM") held on 28 April 2016. On 21 March 2016, the Government of the HKSAR announced the re-appointment of Mr Chow to the Board for a term of approximately 2 years from the conclusion of the 2016 AGM until the conclusion of the AGM to be held in 2018.

Mr Chow's biographical details are available under the About HKEX (Organisation) section of the HKEX website (<u>www.hkex.com.hk</u>).

By Order of the Board Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited Joseph Mau Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 29 April 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises 12 Independent Non-executive Directors, namely Mr CHOW Chung Kong^{Note} (Chairman), Mr Apurv BAGRI, Mr CHAN Tze Ching, Ignatius, Mr Timothy George FRESHWATER, Ms FUNG Yuen Mei, Anita, Mr Rafael GIL-TIENDA, Mr John Barrie HARRISON, Dr HU Zuliu, Fred, Dr KWOK Chi Piu, Bill, Mr LEE Kwan Ho, Vincent Marshall, Mrs LEUNG KO May Yee, Margaret, and Mr John Mackay McCulloch WILLIAMSON, and one Executive Director, Mr LI Xiaojia, Charles, who is also HKEX's Chief Executive.

Note: The re-appointment of Mr Chow as the Chairman is subject to the written approval of the Chief Executive of the HKSAR.